NICARAGUA

Rodrigo Guevara, Field Engineer Central America

Where shall we start? Well, in case you didn't know, 87 % of the coffee produced in Nicaragua is Arabica and the rest is Robusta. Nicaragua is divided into three regions: the northern region, the central region and the southern region. Almost 100 % of the arabica coffee is cultivated between the northern and central region. The departments of Jinotega and Matagalpa produce almost 70 % of the national production and this is where our work on the origin begins.

For Belco’s event Les Primeurs, we have brought a couple of surprises for you to taste. So, let’s first introduce you to BENCAFÉ coffees, with their notes of chocolate, honey and sugar cane, and a low acidity typical of the washed coffees of this area.

 

A little further north, you will find COOMCAFE's organic coffees, which are produced and processed in the department of Jinotega, in the municipality of San Rafael del Norte more specifically. They have floral notes, a more pronounced acidity to the tropical and citric fruits native to this region, and a juicier body.

 

Then, Sajonia Estate Coffee is a producer, processor and exporter of specialty coffees, also located in the department of Matagalpa. Sajonia is the largest company producing specialty coffees in Matagalpa and Jinotega, and the coffees we have selected are from the municipalities of Abisinia, La Dalia, Pantasma and Asturias, with floral and citric aromas and notes of cashew, mango and orange.

 

To finish this presentation of Nicaraguan coffees we have selected for you, we’ll take you to the department of Nueva Segovia (the department of processed coffees) so you can enjoy Olman Valladarez’s coffees, which taste funkier and more tropical, and have a lighter body.

Good tasting!

BELCO

PRIMEURS

CAFÉS

2022

NICARAGUA

Rodrigo Guevara, Ingénieur terrain Amérique centrale

Par où commencer ? Au cas où vous ne le sauriez pas, 87 % du café produit au Nicaragua est de l'Arabica et le reste du Robusta. Le Nicaragua est divisé en trois régions : la région nord, la région centrale et la région sud. Presque 100 % du café arabica est cultivé entre la région nord et la région centrale. Les départements de Jinotega et Matagalpa produisent près de 70 % de la production nationale et c'est là que commence notre travail sur les cafés d’origine.

 

Chez Belco, nous vous avons apporté quelques surprises à déguster à l’occasion des Primeurs et nous allons commencer par vous parler un peu des cafés BENCAFÉ, aux notes chocolatées, de miel, de canne à sucre et à la faible acidité, typiques des cafés de cette région.

 

Maintenant, partons un peu plus au nord pour vous parler des cafés biologiques COOMCAFE, qui sont produits et traités dans le département de Jinotega, plus précisément dans la municipalité de San Rafael del Norte : ils possèdent des notes florales, une acidité plus prononcée de fruits tropicaux et d’agrumes originaires

de cette région, et leur texture est plus juteuse.

 

Nous poursuivons avec les cafés de Sajonia Estate Coffee, un producteur,transformateur et exportateur de cafés de spécialité, également situé dans le département de Matagalpa. Sajonia est le plus grand producteur de cafés de spécialité de Matagalpa et de Jinotega. Il est ici présent avec ses cafés provenant des communes d'Abisinia, de La Dalia, de Pantasma et d'Asturias, qui confèrent à ces cafés des arômes de fleurs et d'agrumes, ainsi que des notes de noix de cajou, de mangue et d'orange.

 

Enfin, pour clore cette courte présentation des cafés nicaraguayens que nous vous proposons, partons dans le département de Nueva Segovia (le département des cafés transformés) afin de goûter les cafés d'Olman Valladarez et de découvrir des saveurs plus funky, tropicales

et légères.

Bonne dégustation !

BELCO

PRIMEURS

CAFÉS

2022