BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_V4.png

MEXICO

BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vvvv_edited.png
BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vffga_edited_edited.p
HARVEST 2021, BY

ANGEL BARRERA

Mexico lindo y querido… a song that in two words can describe so well Mexico. A beautiful country, which can easily become your dearest. 

Mexico has been a path of learning. A path of patience as well. Two years ago when we introduced the coffees from Cafeologo, nobody actually did see us coming with such fine coffees (neither did we to be honest). 

Having found these outstanding beans, histories & faces behind made us want to make a deeper and larger sourcing in Mexico. With Cafeologo we have increased every year since we started, last year we introduced the Micro Regional « Cafeologia '' selection and also a farmer from a different State than Chiapas (Guerrero). Besides these, we continued increasing the list of producer partners from the different micro regions from los Altos de Chiapas, and continued this huge challenge of keeping developing naturals with the « Beneficios Comunitarios ». Many already known faces would come back this year, but we would hope to make you discover some new ones as well. 

Last year we did also introduced to you our partner La Laja, with who we developed two fine Terroir Coffees, one Fully Washed from Veracruz (the good ol’ El Santo), but also supported them on their project of doing Honeys at a larger scale in Puebla (our reference Nahua). 

And what’s also new ? 

Some green partners are coming back. We have bought some coffees from Finca Irlanda in Soconusco, the first ever coffee farm certified organic in the world… and also the first one having been certified biodynamic. Certificates and above all, ways of production, that they continue to practice up to know. Besides their Estate coffee and a couple of some smaller lots, such as peaberry & geisha, we have also developed a Terroir organic coffee, composed from neighbouring farms of Irlanda. 

As we talk of organics & Terroir range, on this edition we would also be showcasing for the first time « El Pacayal », a coffee from small holders of the south of Chiapas. 

I guess you have understood by now that we are fully packed to load your roasteries with an excellent mexican selection for this harvest

mexique.jpg

CHIAPAS : 

Cafeologo

Pedro Vazquez

Victor Lopez

Abel Sanchez

Audias Garcia

Eleazar Rodas

Lorenzo Nunez

Walter Peters, Finca Irlanda

VERACRUZ

BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_V4.png

MEXIQUE

BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vvvv_edited.png
BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vffga_edited_edited.p
RÉCOLTE 2021, PAR

Angel Barrera

México lindo y querido... Une chanson qui décrit tellement bien le Mexique, un pays magnifique, dont on peut rapidement tomber amoureux. 

Le Mexique m’a beaucoup appris. Y compris à me montrer patient. Il y a deux ans, lorsque nous avons introduit les cafés Cafeologo, personne ne s’attendait à des cafés aussi délicats (même pas nous, pour être honnête). 

Après avoir découvert ces grains exceptionnels, leur histoire et les visages derrière eux, nous avons voulu creuser plus profondément et sourcer de nouveaux cafés dans d’autres régions du Mexique. Notre gamme Cafeologo s’est élargie chaque année depuis notre première commande. L’an dernier, nous avons introduit la sélection microrégionale Cafeologia, ainsi qu’un agriculteur d’un autre État que celui du Chiapas (Guerrero). Nous avons également continué d’étoffer notre liste de producteurs partenaires dans les différentes microrégions de Los Altos de Chiapas et avons poursuivi notre énorme défi de développer les cafés nature avec les Beneficios Comunitarios. Beaucoup de visages familiers reviendront cette année, mais nous espérons également vous en présenter de nouveaux. 

L’année dernière, nous vous avions présenté notre partenaire La Laja, avec qui nous avons développé deux délicieux cafés de terroir, dont un lavé en provenance de Veracruz (le bon vieux El Santo). Nous les avons également soutenus dans leur projet de café honey à grande échelle à Puebla (notre café Nahua). 

 

Quoi d’autre ? 

Certains de nos anciens partenaires font leur grand retour avec leurs cafés verts. Nous avons acheté quelques cafés de Finca Irlanda à Soconusco, la première ferme biologique certifiée au monde... et la première à avoir été certifiée biodynamique. Ils détiennent toujours cette certification et, surtout, utilisent toujours les mêmes méthodes de production. En dehors de leur café Estate et d’autres lots plus petits, comme leurs variétés Peaberry et Geisha, nous avons également développé un café de terroir biologique composé de grains provenant de fermes voisines à celle de Finca Irlanda. 

Toujours dans la catégorie des cafés biologiques et de terroir, nous présenterons aussi, pour la première fois, El Pacayal, un café produit par de petits exploitants du sud de l’État de Chiapas. 

Comme vous l’aurez compris, nous avons, cette année encore, sélectionné la crème des cafés mexicains pour approvisionner vos ateliers de torréfaction.

mexique.jpg

CHIAPAS : 

Cafeologo

Pedro Vazquez

Victor Lopez

Abel Sanchez

Audias Garcia

Eleazar Rodas

Lorenzo Nunez

Walter Peters, Finca Irlanda

VERACRUZ