KENYA

Jacques Chambrillon,Director Belco East Africa

In Kenya, as the early harvest begins, shipments of the main harvest end.

 

In Kenya, as the early harvest begins, shipments of the main harvest end. As in many producing countries, this harvest has been one of the most difficult for a decade. As in southern Ethiopia, the rains have not come at the right time to get enough quality fruit. Collectors have become very aggressive in obtaining cherries or parchment and the situation has become very difficult for small independent producers like David Ngibuini Maguta and his partners.

→​ It is in this context that the “Hands on Coffee” project is entering its second year.

 

Micro-farmers are still enthusiastic about making natural coffees, however, unfortunately, some producers have left the group, preferring to deliver cherries or “farm gate” parchment (meaning the traders come to collect the goods and pay cash). Only the most motivated remained with David, and these are also the ones we believe are the best:

MAGIC, MANAA, MAGUTA, OLO MAYANA, GERALD, MONSANN, GAKIRA, WANjAIRU , MBOGAT, MBARI

Located at the foot of Mount Kenya between Nyeri and Embu, this group of producers offers traceability and quality like few others in the Kenyan specialty coffee sector. We have access to a better understanding of the small coffee farms in the country. We understand the challenges of Kenyan coffee growing within the framework of polycultures, the agronomic challenge of SL, the development of Batian and Ruiru 11, the grafting of Ruiru onto SL vines, etc. These producers make us aware of the development of agricultural systems in Kenya in the face of environmental, societal, and economic challenges.

 

Finally, Boyce Harries, with his two plantations of Chania and Oreti in Thika, continues to deliver exceptional quality coffees. He is one of the last Kenyan farmers to offer the full range of Kenyan varieties. This difficult climatic context, coupled with a drop in yields, has led Boyce to make strong choices. He has favored plain and washed over honey coffees, feeling more comfortable with these processes to maintain a high level of quality.

 ​Kenyan producers are at a crossroads, and Belco partners seem to be taking an innovative direction to continue to offer those Kenyan profiles so sought after by coffee lovers.

BELCO

PRIMEURS

CAFÉS

2022

KENYA

Jacques Chambrillon, Directeur Belco Afrique de l'Est

À l’heure où commence les Primeurs, les embarquements se terminent au Kenya pour la récolte principale.

 

Cette récolte, comme dans de nombreux pays producteurs, est l’une des plus difficile depuis une décennie. Comme dans le Sud de l’Ethiopie, les précipitations ne sont pas arrivées aux moments clés pour obtenir des fruits de qualité en quantité suffisante. Les collecteurs sont devenus très agressifs pour obtenir des cerises ou des parches et la situation se révèle très complexe pour les petits acteurs indépendants comme David Ngibuini Maguta et ses partenaires.

→​ Dans ce contexte, le projet Hands on Coffee rentre dans sa deuxième année.

 

Les fermiers des micro fermes sont toujours enthousiastes à l’idée de faire des natures. Malheureusement, certains producteurs ont quitté le groupe, préférant livrer des cerises ou des parches « farm gate », c’est-à-dire que les négociants viennent chercher la marchandise et payent comptant. Seuls les plus motivés sont restés avec David, c’est aussi ceux que nous pensons les meilleurs :

MAGIC, MANAA, MAGUTA, OLO MAYANA, GERALD, MONSANN, GAKIRA, WANjAIRU , MBOGAT, MBARI

Le groupe de producteurs, réparti aux pieds du Mont Kenya entre Nyeri et Embu, offre traçabilité et qualité comme rarement dans la filière du Specialty au Kenya. Nous avons accès, avec eux, à une meilleure compréhension des petites fermes de café dans le pays. Nous comprenons les enjeux de la caféiculture kenyane dans le cadre de polycultures, l’enjeu agronomique des Sl, le développement des Batian et Ruiru 11, les greffes de Ruiru sur des pieds de Sl etc. Ces producteurs nous sensibilisent à l’évolution des systèmes agraires au Kenya face aux enjeux environnementaux, sociétaux et économiques.

 

Enfin, Boyce Harries, à Thika avec les deux plantations de Chania et Oreti, continue de nous livrer des cafés exceptionnels. Il est l’un des derniers fermiers kenyans à proposer toute la palette des variétés kenyane. Le contexte climatique difficile s’accompagnant d’une baisse de rendement, Boyce a fait des choix forts. Il a favorisé les natures et les lavés au détriment des honey se sentant plus à l’aise avec ces process afin de maintenir un haut niveau de qualité.

 ​Les producteurs kenyans sont à un carrefour et les partenaires Belco semblent prendre une direction innovante pour continuer à offrir ces profils kenyans tant recherchés par les amateurs de café.

BELCO

PRIMEURS

CAFÉS

2022