INDia

Angel BARRERA, Sourcing Director

India is for me the before and after of the new reality we live in: the pandemic almost took me by surprise when I arrived from India, and I narrowly escaped being confined there.

 

Pre-pandemia and post-pandemia. Before and after. This is what India stands for me. I started in a rather comical way, thinking that the Senior partner of one of our producers was his father. I started a new business relationship and discovered a new origin getting into trouble. Nothing new under the sun.

 

In India, I discovered a lot of things I didn't know, and at the same time, I hope I made our (now) partners learn a few more.

Coffee production in India is all about sharing risk - a very English tradition that is still on today. Coffee plantations grow under the protective shade of huge oak trees, oaks that are also embraced by pepper vines that grow tall and wide.

In India, I discovered a lot of things I didn't know, and at the same time, I hope I made our (now) partners learn a few more.

Coffee production in India is all about sharing risk - a very English tradition that is still on today. Coffee plantations grow under the protective shade of huge oak trees, oaks that are also embraced by pepper vines that grow tall and wide.

 

A triple production making up a forest. Palm trees also grow on the edges of the farms, and I am told that they produce a kind of palm heart that people chew like tobacco. Agroforestry. We can also add that there are two sides to coffee production: up to a certain altitude, robusta coffee trees grow, and from there up to the top of the mountains, arabica coffee trees grow. “If the price of coffee is low, the price of pepper might be higher”, says Sunil, a Belco partner producer, “and even if the price is quite low, sometimes robusta helps us make up for the losses”, he concludes. The coffee is mainly exported, the pepper is sold both for export and on the local market, and the palm heart, which is chewed, is sold exclusively nationally. Do you see why I say it is a perfect distribution of risk for the producer? Not to mention the biodiversity that such productions can generate.

On your tables, you will taste some washed coffee, with a characteristic Indian profile, but these are farms we hope in the future will be able to work on different projects. Despite being forests, the temperature rises, and we will probably have to organize new drying methods to improve the conservation of the beans over time.

 But at the same time - I think you already know us at Belco - there is something about developing naturals and giving all the benefit of the doubt to quality robustas that is stronger than us.

BELCO

PRIMEURS

CAFÉS

2022

INDE

Angel BARRERA, Directeur Sourcing Belco

Période pré-pandémie et post-pandémie. Un avant et un après. L'Inde, c’est aussi cela pour moi. J'ai commencé de manière plutôt comique, en pensant que l'associé principal d'un de nos producteurs était son père. Nouer de nouveaux liens commerciaux et découvrir une origine en mettant les pieds dans le plat ... Rien de nouveau sous le soleil.

 

En Inde, j'ai appris beaucoup de choses que j'ignorais et, dans le même temps, j'espère en avoir fait découvrir à nos (désormais) nouveaux collaborateurs.

La production de café en Inde est une question de répartition des risques, une tradition anglaise qui se perpétue encore aujourd'hui. Les plantations de café poussent sous l'ombre protectrice d'immenses chênes, chênes qui sont également enlacés par des poivriers.

Une triple production qui forme une forêt, entourée de palmiers plantés en bord des exploitations. On m’a dit qu'ils produisent une sorte de cœur de palmier que l’on mâche comme du tabac. C’est ça, l’agro-foresterie. On peut également ajouter que la production de café comporte deux facettes : jusqu'à une certaine altitude, on a des caféiers robusta, et de là jusqu'au sommet des montagnes, des caféiers arabica. « Si le prix du café est bas, le prix du poivre peut être plus élevé », déclare Sunil, un producteur partenaire de Belco, « et même si le prix de ce dernier est assez faible, parfois le robusta nous aide à compenser les pertes », conclut-il. Le café est principalement exporté, le poivre est vendu à la fois à l'exportation et sur le marché local, et le cœur de palmier, qui est mâché, est consommé au niveau national exclusivement. Vous voyez pourquoi je dis qu’il s’agit d’une parfaite répartition des risques pour le producteur ? Sans parler de la biodiversité que de telles productions sont capables de générer.

Sur vos tables, vous dégusterez un café lavé, au profil indien caractéristique, mais il s’agit d’exploitations avec lesquelles nous espérons développer différents projets à l'avenir. Même si ce sont des forêts où la température augmente, nous devrons probablement organiser de nouvelles méthodes de séchage à terme, afin d’améliorer la conservation des grains.

 

En même temps, je pense que vous nous voyez venir chez Belco : il y a quelque chose de plus fort que nous dans le fait de développer des cafés nature et de donner tout le bénéfice du doute à des robustas de qualité.

 Souhaitons la bienvenue à l'Inde, en espérant que cette origine soit là pour longtemps !

BELCO

PRIMEURS

CAFÉS

2022