BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_V4.png

HONDURAS

BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vvvv_edited.png
BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vffga_edited_edited.p
HARVEST 2021, BY

Sebastien Lafaye

This has been another difficult campaign for Honduras. The country was seriously impacted by the tropical storm Eta in November 2020, and production volumes have fallen steadily over the past three years due to a sharp decrease in business profitability. Like Nicaragua, Honduras expects to end its 20/21 cycle below the official projections given at the start of the harvest.

 

Fortunately, we are continuing to source larger volumes and more diversified coffees.

 

The great classics began arriving in February, and the first microlots have now also been approved. All that remains is for them to cross the oceans, which considering the logistical difficulties worldwide is no small task!

 

Given the huge success of our organic Ceiba, we have decided to purchase twice as much honey and natural. We are offering three different types of process to give you the widest possible choice of certified organic coffee.

 

We have also welcomed new members into our family of partners, and are proud to have begun working with Cooperativa Raos, the pioneer organic coffee cooperative in the region of Marcala. Raos groups together over 250 small producers with organic and fair trade certifications. The cooperative manages coffee processing from cherry to drying, ensuring full traceability and consistency in the cup.

 

We’ll soon also be bringing you a decaffeinated version of our Organic Fair Trade Lenca, obtained using the Canadian Swiss Water Process.

 

For the second year running, our Fair Trade Organic Wapaia from the Cocasam cooperative in the region of San Marcos de Colon will be available for those in search of a new region to explore in Honduras. This area, which borders Nicaragua (Madriz), has its own unique climatic characteristics. The cooperative’s general manager, Professor Geovanny Lopez, is an important local figure who has initiated numerous environmental and educational projects for the families of local producers. 

Honduras.jpg

MONTECILLOS : 
COMSA

Miriam Elisabeth Perez, Finca Clave del Sol

Maria Dolores Zelaya, Mini Granja Dilma

Anastasio Argueta, Los Ceibos

 

EL PARAISO

Finca Mini Granja Dilma

Finca Los Ceibos & La Rosa

Finca Clave Del Sol

Cocasam

BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_V4.png

HONDURAS

BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vvvv_edited.png
BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vffga_edited_edited.p
RÉCOLTE 2021, PAR

Sebastien Lafaye

Le Honduras a une nouvelle fois connu une campagne difficile. Le pays a été fortement impacté par la tempête tropicale ETA en novembre 2020, les volumes de production n’ont cessé de diminuer de manière constante durant les trois dernières années, en raison d’une forte perte de rentabilité de l’activité. Comme pour le Nicaragua, le Honduras prévoit de terminer le cycle 20/21 en dessous des projections officielles du début de récolte.

 

Heureusement côté sourcing, nos approvisionnements continuent d’augmenter et de se diversifier.

 

Nos références traditionnelles ont commencé à arriver dès le mois de février et les premiers microlots ont été approuvés. Il ne leur reste plus qu’à traverser les océans et vu les difficultés logistiques au niveau mondial, ce n’est pas une mince affaire !

 

Notre Ceiba bio a rencontré un immense succès, nous avons donc décidé de doubler nos achats de Honey & Nature.  Ce café est disponible en trois process pour vous offrir le plus grand choix possible en café certifié biologique.

 

Nous avons agrandi notre famille de partenaires et sommes très fiers d’avoir entamé une relation avec la coopérative pionnière du café biologique dans la zone de Marcala, la Cooperativa Raos. RAOS regroupe un peu plus de 250 petits producteurs qui ont la certification biologique et équitable. La coopérative se charge de la transformation du café de la cerise jusqu’au séchage, offrant une parfaite traçabilité et régularité en tasse.

 

Notre Lenca Bio Équitable sera bientôt disponible en version décaféinée, grâce au process de Swiss Water au Canada.

 

Pour la seconde année consécutive, le Wapaia Bio Équitable provenant de la coopérative Cocasam de la région de San Marcos de Colon sera disponible pour tous ceux qui cherchent une nouvelle région à explorer au Honduras. Cette zone frontalière avec le Nicaragua (Madriz), bénéficie de caractéristiques climatiques à part. Le Directeur Général de la coop, le professeur Geovanny Lopez est une vraie figure locale, il a impulsé de nombreux projets environnementaux et éducatifs pour les familles de producteurs. 

Honduras.jpg

MONTECILLOS : 
COMSA

Miriam Elisabeth Perez, Finca Clave del Sol

Maria Dolores Zelaya, Mini Granja Dilma

Anastasio Argueta, Los Ceibos

 

EL PARAISO

Finca Mini Granja Dilma

Finca Los Ceibos & La Rosa

Finca Clave Del Sol

Cocasam