BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_V4.png

GUATEMALA

BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vvvv_edited.png
BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vffga_edited_edited.p
HARVEST 2021, BY

SEBASTIEN LAFAYE

Guatemala has always been a unique origin. Its vast cultivated areas, high altitudes and ancient varieties combined with high yields have positioned it as a benchmark in the coffee industry. Coffee farming is a deeply rooted tradition, underpinned by a rich cultural diversity.

 

Belco is particularly active in Guatemala. We are constantly looking for new regions and new concepts to develop.

 

This year we expanded our organic range with a coffee from San Marcos, located on the border with Mexico and near the areas of Huehuetenango and Quetzaltenango. It’s a coffee exported by our partner Truth Trading Company.

 

There’s also a new organic, fair trade coffee from the Coban region, which is famous for its cardamom production. It’s produced by Fedecovera, a group of over 30,000 mostly indigenous producers with whom we’ve forged a partnership that holds enormous potential for development and cooperation.

 

Our first container of Quetzalito has just been shipped and should arrive in Le Havre in May.

 

In addition to these organic coffees, Belco has committed to importing a full container of fully-washed Robusta from the Atitlan region, whose quality surprised us last year. It’s a not-to-be-missed coffee grown at the Panama plantation owned by our friend Alex Herrera, who also produces coffee at the Pampojila plantation.

 

And to complete our news update, our friends at Truth Trading Company have two new microlots: a Paché variety and a Typica, on top of the coffees from El Xalum and Monte de Oro.

 

In addition to these new products, we are continuing and strengthening our relationship with our partners at Café de Mi Tierra, who produce and export coffees in the Huehuetenango region for the Maya and La Mochilita brands, coffees from the La Bolsa plantation, as well as Jacqueline’s Gotta Spoon microlots. 

 

And to round off, we wanted to keep our roasters informed of the devastation caused by the tropical storm Eta in the indigenous area of Coban where our new partner, Fedecovera, gets its coffees. The storm swept right through the region of Alta Verapaz, severely damaging local infrastructure and agricultural production. According to Fedecovera’s estimations, 50% of its producers’ crops were lost directly or indirectly by the passage of this storm.

 

At times like these, we’re immensely proud that we’re able to help bring these coffees to market, while reaffirming our commitment and raising awareness of the many challenges our various partners have faced over the past few months.

guatemala.jpg

AMATITLAN : 
Alex Herrera, Pampojila

ATITLAN 

HUEHUETENANGO  :

Renardo Ovalle, Finca La Bolsa

ACATENANGO :

Mario Alarcon, Finca Monte de Oro

Christian Starry, El Xalum

El Xalum

Finca El Transito

El Beneficio

Monte de Oro

Fedecovera

Finca Pampojila

BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_V4.png

GUATEMALA

BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vvvv_edited.png
BELCO_PRIMEURS_KIT_Vffga_edited_edited.p
RÉCOLTE 2021, PAR

SEBASTIEN LAFAYE

Le Guatemala a toujours représenté une origine à part. Sa grande superficie cultivée, ses hautes altitudes et variétés anciennes, ainsi que sa forte production ont positionné le Guatemala comme une référence dans l’industrie du café. La culture du café est une tradition fortement enracinée où la richesse et la diversité culturelle viennent compléter le tout.

 

Belco est très actif au Guatemala. Nous recherchons en permanence de nouvelles régions ou de nouveaux concepts à développer.

 

Cette année, nous avons accru notre gamme de cafés biologiques avec un café en provenance du département de San Marcos, situé sur le frontière avec le Mexique et à côté des zones de Huehuetenango et Quetzaltenango. Ce café est exporté par notre partenaire Truth Trading Company.

 

À cela s’ajoute un nouveau café bio et équitable de la région de Coban, célèbre pour sa production de cardamome. Ce café provient d’une Fédération de plus de 30.000 producteurs, indigènes pour la plupart, appelée Fedecovera avec laquelle nous commençons un partenariat où un énorme potentiel de développement et coopération a été descellé.

 

Notre premier conteneur de ‘Quetzalito’ vient juste d’être mis en bateau et devrait arriver dans le courant du mois de Mai au Havre.

 

En plus de ces cafés Bio, Belco s’est engagé sur l’importation d’un conteneur complet de Robusta Lavé de la région d’Atitlan, dont la qualité nous avait particulièrement surpris l’an passé.

À découvrir ! Ce café est produit dans la plantation ‘Panama’, propriété de notre ami Alex Herrera, également producteur du café de plantation ‘Pampojila’.

 

Pour terminer les nouveautés, retour chez nos amis de Truth Trading Company avec deux nouveaux microlots : une variété Paché et un Typica seront exportés en plus des cafés en provenance de ‘El Xalum’ et ‘Monte de Oro’.

 

En plus des nouveautés, nous continuons et renforçons nos relations avec nos partenaires Café de Mi Tierra, producteur et exportateur de la zone de Huehuetenango pour les marques Maya et Mochilita, du café de plantation ‘La Bolsa’ ainsi que les microlots ‘Jacqueline gotta spoon’ 

 

Enfin, il est important d’informer nos torréfacteurs du ravage de la tempête tropicale ETA dans la zone indigène de Coban d’oú notre nouveau partenaire, Fedecovera obtient ses cafés. En effet, la région d’Alta Verapaz s’est trouvée en plein passage de la tempête, causant de forts dégâts en infrastructure et production agricole. Fedecovera estime que 50% de la récolte de ses producteurs ont été perdus directement ou indirectement par le passage de la tempête.

 

C’est dans ces moments-là que nous sommes encore plus fiers d’avoir pu contribuer à commercialiser ces cafés, réaffirmer notre engagement et faire prendre conscience des multiples défis auxquels nos différents partenaires ont dû faire face durant ces derniers mois.

guatemala.jpg

AMATITLAN : 
Alex Herrera, Pampojila

ATITLAN 

HUEHUETENANGO  :

Renardo Ovalle, Finca La Bolsa

ACATENANGO :

Mario Alarcon, Finca Monte de Oro

Christian Starry, El Xalum

El Xalum

Finca El Transito

El Beneficio

Monte de Oro

Fedecovera

Finca Pampojila