ETHIOPIa

Jacques Chambrillon, Director Belco East Africa

The 2021/22 harvest is coming gradually to an end, to the rhythm of the different appellations and altitudes. Exports of Kaffa have already begun, and the Sidamo, Yirgacheffe and Guji harvests, further south, will finish nearer the end of the mont

 

The Ethiopian industry is facing lots of challenges this year. The political situation, with the civil war, is posing many difficulties in much of the country. The economic and social climate has deteriorated dramatically because of current events and hyperinflation, with monthly rates ranging recently between 30 and 50%. Given these difficult circumstances, our Belco team in Addis Ababa has pulled out all the stops and is adapting as best it can to ensure quality sourcing, and to follow up exports in an equally complicated logistical context. Fantanesh and Naomi are overseeing quality, Shambe and Meded are in the field, and Bethel is focusing on logistics and marketing. They are giving it their all to continue supplying our European specialty roasters with quality coffees.

 

Two things have fuelled the recent inflation: the global rise in coffee prices, and the local context, impacted by the effects of the civil war, the inflation in local goods (particularly foodstuffs) and the Ethiopian industry reforms.

→ Our main challenge has been to manage the inflation in production costs and cherry prices.

One important aspect of the export regulations has placed strong inflationary pressure on the price of export coffees. Ethiopia is a country that suffers structurally from a shortage of foreign currency, particularly US dollars. Traditionally, exporters have been willing to lose money on coffee exports because they used their foreign exchange gains to import goods into the country. Those who did not import, sold their dollars. Last year, an exporter could expect to use 70% of the foreign exchange generated by exports. In September, this percentage fell to 50%, then 20%.

 

Put simply, this means that coffee exports are no longer sufficiently profitable and foreign exchange earnings have suffered a substantial drop. This phenomenon, in addition to world prices, is a strong catalyst for coffee price inflation. But it is not the only one, we are also witnessing various regional situations where coffee export prices have come under pressure locally due to the cost of cherries.

 

In the south, in the Yirgacheffe, Sidama and Guji appellations, we have observed various phenomena that have pushed the price per kilo of cherries to unprecedented levels. The first is a lack of rainfall, which impacts both fruit quality and yields. In addition, some farms in the Sidama region have been hit with coffee berry disease. Given the changing regulatory environment and global inflation, prices for the kind of quality that Belco seeks are high.

 Despite this, our partners have done their utmost to find quality fruit and develop new origins (kebeles of Chancho and Alo) and new processes (honey, anaerobic).

In the west, in the Jimma, Kaffa and Nekemte / Kelem Wallagga appellations, the increase was less dramatic due to larger harvests. Belco’s partner producers, including Mustafa Mohamed Ali, Khalid Shifa, Nazimu Abachesa, Genet Seyfu and Yidinekachew Dabessa in Jimma, and Negussie Tadesse, Zinabu Abamecha, Habtamu Abebe and Ephrem Mulugeta in Kaffa, have played along and kept prices down by assuming part of the inflation in production costs. 

 

In Wallagga, which has been a warscarred region since 2018, Habtamu Aga and Sisay Abebe have had to cope with a difficult harvest while trying to maintain quality. In these areas, Belco is continuing to nurture its relationship with direct producers to further increase quality and traceability while spotlighting their sustainable

In this context, and thanks to the hard work of our team, the Forest Coffee brand is enjoying a rebirth which we will soon reveal to you !

BELCO

PRIMEURS

CAFÉS

2022

ETHIOPIE

Jacques Chambrillon, Directeur Belco Afrique de l'Est

La récolte 2021/22 s’achève progressivement suivant les différentes appellations et altitudes. Les cafés de l’appellation Kaffa sont déjà en cours d’exportation tandis que les producteurs du Sud en appellation Sidamo, Yirgacheffe et Guji finiront la récolte à la fin du mois.

 

Cette année la filière éthiopienne doit faire face à de nombreux écueils. Le contexte politique avec la guerre civile est très difficile dans de nombreuses régions du pays. Le contexte économique et social est très dégradé en raison des évènements et de l’hyperinflation que connait le pays avec des taux mensuels compris entre 30 et 50 % ces derniers mois. Dans ce climat difficile, l’équipe Belco à Addis est impliquée au maximum et s’adapte au mieux pour réaliser un sourcing de qualité et suivre les exportations dans un contexte logistique lui-même dégradé. Fantanesh et Naomi à la qualité, Shambe et Meded au pôle terrain et Bethel à la logistique & marketing donnent 100 % pour continuer à alimenter les torréfacteurs de spécialité européens en cafés de qualité. 

Il y a eu un double mouvement inflationniste dont la source se situe au niveau global, avec la hausse des cours du café, et localement avec les effets de la guerre civile, de l’inflation des produits locaux (particulièrement les produits alimentaires) ainsi que des réformes engagées dans la filière éthiopienne.

→ Le premier défi a été l’inflation des coûts de production et du prix des cerises.

Un aspect important de la réglementation des exportations a généré une pression inflationniste forte sur le prix des cafés à l’export. L’Ethiopie est un pays qui connait structurellement une pénurie de devises, particulièrement de dollars américains. Traditionnellement les exportateurs acceptaient de perdre de l’argent sur l’export du café car ils utilisaient les devises obtenues pour importer des biens dans le pays.

Ceux qui n’importaient pas vendaient leurs dollars. L’année passée un exportateur pouvait disposer de 70 % des devises générées par l’export. En septembre ce taux est tombé à 50 % et 20% pour terminer.

Ce qui veut simplement dire que l’export café doit devenir profitable et les gains sur les devises se sont considérablement réduits. Ce phénomène catalyse fortement l’inflation des prix du café en plus des cours mondiaux. Mais ce n’est pas le seul et localement nous observons des situations différentes en fonction des régions. Ce prix du café à l’export a été mis sous pression localement par le prix des cerises.

Au sud, dans les zones d’appellations Yirgacheffe, Sidama et Guji, nous avons observé des phénomènes variés qui ont eu pour conséquence de pousser des niveaux de prix du kilo de cerises à des niveaux inédits. Le premier élément est un déficit de précipitation qui a un double impact sur la qualité des fruits et les rendements. À cela s’est ajouté des fermes affectées par le CBD dans la région Sidama. Avec le contexte réglementaire en évolution et l’inflation mondiale nous atteignons des prix élevés pour les qualités que recherche Belco.

 Néanmoins, nos partenaires ont donné le maximum pour trouver des fruits de qualité et développer de nouvelles origines (kebele de Chancho et Alo), de nouveaux process (honey et anaérobique).

À l’ouest, dans les zones d’appellation Jimma, Kaffa et Nekemte, Kelem Wallagga, la hausse a été modérée par des récoltes plus abondantes. Les producteurs partenaires de Belco comme Mustafa Mohamed Ali, Khalid Shifa, Nazimu Abachesa, Genet Seyfu, Yidinekachew Dabessa à Jimma, Negussie Tadesse, Zinabu Abamecha, Habtamu Abebe, Ephrem Mulugeta au Kaffa, ont joué le jeu et proposent une hausse modérée en répercutant l’inflation des coûts de production sans augmenter leur marge.

 

Au Wallagga, région marquée par la guerre depuis 2018, Habtamu Aga, Sisay Abebe, ont passé une récolte difficile en essayant de maintenir la qualité. Dans ces zones, Belco continue de développer sa relation avec des producteurs en direct pour davantage de qualité et de traçabilité en mettant en avant les pratiques

La marque Café de Forêt va connaître un nouveau départ qu’on vous révélera dans les semaines à venir !

BELCO

PRIMEURS

CAFÉS

2022